How Do I Report an Accident With Uber in Santa Monica?
Uber Accidents Are On The Rise.
With more than 200,000 active Uber drivers in California, the ridesharing service has quickly become a popular choice for transportation in the Golden State.
What should you do, though, if you’re in an accident involving an Uber driver?
As with any other type of accident, you should report the accident to police and paramedics as soon as possible. If you don’t report the accident, virtually any chances of recovering damages in a personal injury claim won’t get off the ground.
You’ll also need to notify Uber in the immediate aftermath, and there are different ways to do that.
How Do I Report the Accident to Uber?
If the accident occurred while you were an Uber passenger, you have the ability to report it with the trip and fare review feature found using the Uber app. You can also complete an accident form on Uber’s website.
According to Uber, they will contact you shortly after you report the accident using either of those methods.
You’ll also likely hear from Uber’s insurance provider shortly after reporting the accident to the company. While they do have good insurance for Uber passengers, the company is reluctant to admit liability in most cases.
If you were in another vehicle at the time of the accident with an Uber driver, you should still complete the online Uber accident form.
Do I Have to Report the Accident?
With just about any accident, there’s a bit of paperwork that needs to be completed. As frustrating as paperwork can be, it definitely needs to be completed.
As we reported in a previous post, you are required by law to report your accident within specific timeframes in some instances.
- If you or someone else has experienced an injury or someone has lost their life because of the accident, you have 24 hours to notify the California Highway Patrol.
- You’ll also need to notify the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) within 10 days of the accident if there are injuries or there’s been a death.
While the car accident is bad enough, you could be in for more trouble by not reporting the accident. Possible consequences include up to six months in jail and $1,000 in fines.
Reporting your accident to the authorities is rather easy. Just call 800-835-5247 and complete a Collision Report (CHP 190 form), and deliver it to your nearest CHP location.
What Other Steps Should I Take After an Accident With an Uber Driver?
Your first priority should be to make sure you’re medically ok. Even if you’re not experiencing symptoms, it’s vital that you be examined by a licensed physician because many injuries will take some time to make themselves known.
Beyond that, try to document as much of the accident scene as you can.
This includes photographing the condition of all involved vehicles, road conditions, operating status of traffic signs and signals, and identifying witnesses and collecting their contact information.
Another key step is to speak with a personal injury attorney who will fight for the compensation you deserve to cover medical bills, lost wages and property damage.
If You’ve Been in an Accident With an Uber Driver, Call the Santa Monica Personal Injury Lawyers At Sina Rez Law.
Whether you were an Uber passenger or were in another vehicle at the time of the accident, do not let the Uber driver talk you out of reporting the accident. If you don’t report the accident, you’ll likely have no chance of recovering any compensation for your injuries or property damage.
Realizing you need money as soon as possible to cover medical bills, damage to your car and other costs, we’ll aggressively take on Uber to make sure you get the compensation and justice you deserve.
Free case evaluation.
Speak with a top-rated Santa Monica Personal Injury lawyer today to understand your rights before they expire. Time is of the essence.